TITLE: Tales of Symphonia
SYSTEM: Nintendo Gamecube
RATING: T for Teen
PLAYERS: 1-4 player simultaneous
MEMORY CARD: Uses 3 blocks

Tales of Symphonia is a Japanese role-playing game released for the Nintendo GameCube on August 29, 2003 in Japan. It was published by Namco, becoming the fifth core product of the Tales series. The game was localized for North America on July 13, 2004 and in Europe on November 19, 2004. In Japan, the game was ported for the PlayStation 2 with additional contents and was released on September 22, 2004.

The game takes place in a fictional world called Sylvarant and follows Lloyd Irving. Lloyd accompanies his childhood friend, Colette Brunel, who is destined to go on a journey to save their world as the Chosen One. As their journey progresses, they learn that saving Sylvarant endangers Tethe'alla, a world parallel to their own. Throughout the journey, more members join Lloyd and Colette to regenerate the world. However, they meet the Chosen One from the parallel world, allowing them to start a new journey to save both Sylvarant and Tethe'alla.


"From the moment they are born, everyone has the right to live."
Lloyd Irving is the main protagonist of the series. Lloyd starts of being a lazy-student in Raine Sage's class with his two best friends, Colette and Genis, but ends up becoming a hero on a long journey to save the world. Lloyd leaves his home to protect his friend Colette while she journeys to regenerate the world. They do this because they think they are saving Sylvarant from despair. However, on this journey, Lloyd finds out who his true father is, why his mom really died, who he should really side with in battle, and who he truly loves. This journey is one that will change his life.

"I don't want anyone to make the same mistake I did. No one should have to think that he has to sacrifice his own life."
Colette Brunel is the second main character of the series. She is quirky and cute, and loves to spend time with her two best friends Lloyd and Genis. Colette was picked the moment she was born to become the Chosen One, the person who would take the sacrifice of losing her humanity, to save Sylvarant from despair. However, Colette doesn't realize exactly what it means to lose her humanity and become an angel. Thankfully, Lloyd and her friends decide to go on the journey with her to make sure she is protected. Colette loves dogs and people. She genuinely cares about the well-being of all lives, and that is why she is such a sincere person.

"My stupid actions have killed many people. I don't know what you did, and your crime won't go away, but when you're suffering it's alright to at least say so."
Genis Sage is the third main character in the series. He is extremely smart, and his two best friends, Lloyd and Colette, know it! Genis is a half-elf, which is something that is extremely looked down upon in the world they live. Genis tries his best to keep it a secret because he doesn't know what his best friends will think of him if they found out. However, this creates a huge burden on his back. Genis learns to love and accept himself for who he is, thanks to Lloyd and Colette always supporting him along the way. Genis also decides to take the journey with Colette because he doesn't want to see her go alone.

Hover over the images below to find out the names and what world each character is found for the remainder of the supporting characters.

b a c k   .   c l e a r   .   f o r w a r d